Author Contacts

Regional Crop Educators

Nebraska Extension offers regional Extension Educators with expertise in crops, pest management, and water management throughout the state. To find the Extension Educator for your area see the UNL Extension Directories by District.

Crop Production

Daren Redfearn

Range and Forage Specialist

Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-2662
dredfearn2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Cody Creech

Dryland Cropping Systems Specialist

Panhandle REC
308-632-1266
ccreech2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Patricio Grassini

Cropping Systems Agronomist

Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-5554
pgrassini2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Bob Klein

Western Nebraska Crops Specialist

West Central REC
308-696-6705
rklein1@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Justin McMechan

Extension Crop Protection & Cropping Systems Specialist

402-624-8041
justin.mcmechan@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Dipak Santra

Alternative Crops Specialist

Panhandle REC
308-632-1244
dsantra2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Carlos Urrea

Dry Bean Breeding Specialist

Panhandle REC
308-632-0556
currea2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Insect Management

Jeffrey Bradshaw

Entomologist, Field Crops

Panhandle REC
308-632-1230
jbradshaw2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Tom Hunt

Entomologist, Field Crops

Haskell Ag Lab, Northeast REC
402-584-3863
thunt2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Justin McMechan

Extension Crop Protection & Cropping Systems Specialist

402-624-8041
justin.mcmechan@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Julie Peterson

Entomologist, Field Crops

West Central REC
308-696-6704
julie.peterson@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Bob Wright

Entomologist, Field Crops

Department of Entomology
402-472-2128
rwright2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Plant Diseases

Bob Harveson

Plant Pathologist, Sugarbeets

Panhandle REC
308-632-1239
rharveson2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Tamra Jackson

Plant Pathologist, Corn and Sorghum

Department of Plant Pathology
402-472-2559
tjackson3@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Stephen Wegulo

Plant Pathologist, Wheat

Department of Plant Pathology
402-472-8735
swegulo2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Weed Management

Amit Jhala

Extension Weeds Specialist

Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-1534
jhala@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Chris Proctor

Extension Educator - Weed Science

Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-5411
caproctor@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Stevan Knezevic

Integrated Weed Management Specialist

Haskell Ag Lab, Northeast REC
402-584-3808
sknezevic2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Nevin Lawrence

Integrated Weed Management Specialist

Panhandle REC, Scottsbluff
308-632-1230
nlawrence2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Pesticide Education

Jody Green

Extension Assistant

Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-1665
jgreen17@unl.edu

Jan Hygnstrom

Extension Project Manager

Pesticide Safety Education Program
Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-1632
jhygnstrom1@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Cheryl Alberts Irwin

Project Coordinator

Pesticide Safety Education Program
363C Plant Science 68583-0915
402-472-1696
calberts1@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Soils and Nutrient Management

Javed Iqbal

Nutrient Management and Water Quality Specialist

Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-1432
javed.iqbal@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Brian Kreinke

Soils Extension Educator

Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-5147
krienke.brian@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Charles Wortmann

Nutrient Management Specialist

Southeast REC
402-472-2909
cwortman2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Irrigation

Chuck Burr

Water/Cropping Systems Extension Educator

West Central REC
308-696-6783
chuck.burr@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Xin Qiao

Irrigation & Water Management Specialist

Panhandle REC
308-632-1246
xin.qiao@unl.edu

Suat Irmak

Water Management Engineer

Biological Systems Engineering
402-472-4865
sirmak2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Bill Kranz

Irrigation Specialist

Haskell Ag Lab, Northeast REC
402-584-3857
wkranz1@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Derrel Martin

Irrigation and Water Resources Engineer

Biological Systems Engineering
402-472-1586
derrel.martin@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Engineering

Tom Franti

Surface Water Management Engineer

Biological Systems Engineering
402-472-9872
tfranti1@unl.edu

John Hay

Extension Educator, Energy, Biofuels

Biological Systems Engineering
402-472-0408
jhay2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Paul Jasa

Engineer, No-Till Systems

Biological Systems Engineering
402-472-6715
pjasa1@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Joe Luck

Precision Agriculture Engineer

Biological Systems Engineering
402-472-1413
jluck2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Climate

Al Dutcher

Associate State Climatologist

School of Natural Resources
402-472-5206
adutcher1@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Agricultural Economics

David Aiken

Water Law Specialist

Agricultural Economics
402-472-1848
daiken1@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Jessica Groskopf

Extension Educator

Panhandle REC
308-632-1247
jjohnson@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Jim Jansen

Extension Educator

Haskell Ag Lab
402-584-3849
jjansen4@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Brad Lubben

Policy Specialist

Agricultural Economics
402-472-2235
blubben2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Glennis McClure

Extension Educator for Farm and Ranch Management Analytics

Agricultural Economics
402-472-0661
gmcclure3@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Matt Stockton

Agricultural Economist

West Central REC
308-696-6713
matt.stockton@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Robert Tigner

Agricultural Systems Economist,

West Central REC
308-696-6734
robert.tigner@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Allan Vyhnalek

Farm/Ranch Succession and Transition

Agricultural Economics
402-472-1771
avyhnalek@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Cory Walter

Extension Crop Economist

Agricultural Economics
402-472-0366
cwalters7@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Plant and Pest Diagnostic Clinics

Lincoln Plant and Pest Diagnostic Clinic

402-472-2559

Located in the Department of Plant Pathology, this facility provides diagnostic services in plant pathology, entomology, horticulture and weed science. In addition to accurate diagnosis of your pest problems, you will be provided with current information about the disease and management recommendations. Learn more about services and how to submit a sample.

Panhandle Plant Diagnostic Clinic

308-632-1230

Located at the Panhandle Research and Extension Center at Scottsbluff, this lab focuses only on plant disease identification. Most of its samples are of sugar beets or soil samples from sugar beet fields. However, diagnostic services are provided for any diseases encountered in the Panhandle. Learn more...

Extension Research and Extension Centers, Labs

Eastern Nebraska REC Panhandle REC West Central REC Haskell Ag Lab