Author Contacts

Regional Crop Educators

Nebraska Extension offers regional Extension Educators with expertise in crops, pest management, and water management throughout the state. To find the Extension Educator for your area see the  UNL Extension Directories by District.

Pest Management

Services

Plant and Pest Diagnostic Clinic
402-472-2559
UNL Plant Diagnostic Clinics

Insect Management

Department of Entomology

Jeffrey Bradshaw
Entomologist, Field Crops
Panhandle REC
308-632-1230
jbradshaw2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Tom Hunt
Entomologist, Field Crops
Haskell Ag Lab, Northeast REC
402-584-3863
thunt2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Justin McMechan
Extension Crop Protection & Cropping Systems Specialist
402-624-8041
justin.mcmechan@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Julie Peterson
Entomologist, Field Crops
West Central REC
308-696-6704
julie.peterson@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Bob Wright
Entomologist, Field Crops
Department of Entomology
402-472-2128
rwright2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Plant Diseases

Department of Plant Pathology

Tony Adesemoye
Plant Pathologist
West Central REC, North Platte
308-696-6708
tony.adesemoye@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Loren Giesler
Plant Pathologist, Soybeans
Department of Plant Pathology
402-472-2559
lgiesler1@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Bob Harveson
Plant Pathologist, Sugarbeets
Panhandle REC
308-632-1239
rharveson2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Tamra Jackson
Plant Pathologist, Corn and Sorghum
Department of Plant Pathology
402-472-2559
tjackson3@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Stephen Wegulo
Plant Pathologist, Wheat
Department of Plant Pathology
402-472-8735
swegulo2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Weed Management

Department of Agronomy and Horticulture

Amit Jhala
Extension Weeds Specialist
Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-1534
amit.jhala@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Chris Proctor
Extension Educator - Weed Science
Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-5411
caproctor@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Stevan Knezevic
Integrated Weed Management Specialist
Haskell Ag Lab, Northeast REC
402-584-3808
sknezevic2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Nevin Lawrence
Integrated Weed Management Specialist
Panhandle REC, Scottsbluff
308-632-1230

Pesticide Education

Clyde Ogg
Extension Pesticide Educator
Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-1632
cogg1@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Jody Green
Extension Assistant
Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-1665
Jgreen17@unl.edu

Jan Hygnstrom
Extension Project Manager
Pesticide Safety Education Program
Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-1632
Jhygnstrom1@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Cheryl Alberts Irwin
Pesticide Safety Education Program
Project Coordinator
363C Plant Science 68583-0915
402-472-1696 PH
calberts1@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Contributing Departments / School
(UNL East Campus, Lincoln)

Agronomy and Horticulture
Richard Ferguson
Interim Department Head
202H Keim, 68583-0910
Phone: 402-472-1555
Web: agronomy.unl.edu

Biological Systems Engineering
David Jones, Department Head
223 L.W. Chase Hall, 68583-0726
Phone: 402-472-1413
Web: bse.unl.edu

Entomology
Gary Brewer, Department Head
103 Entomology Hall, 68583-0816
Phone: 402-472-2123
Web: entomology.unl.edu

Nebraska State Climate Office
Martha Shulski, Director
School of Natural Resources
153 Hardin Hall
Phone: 402-472-5206
Web: https://nsco.unl.edu/

High Plains Regional Climate Center
Natalie Umphlett, Interim Director
713 Hardin Hall, 68583-0997
Phone: 402-472-6764
Web: hprcc.unl.edu

Plant Pathology
James Steadman, Department Head
406 Plant Science, 68583-0722
Phone: 402-472-2858
Web: plantpath.unl.edu

School of Natural Resources
John Carroll, Director
903 Hardin Hall
Phone: 402-472-8368
Fax: 402-472-3610
Web: snr.unl.edu

Research and Extension Centers (REC)

Northeast REC
601 East Benjamin Avenue, Suite 104
Norfolk, NE 68701-0812
Phone: 402-370-4000
Fax: 402-470-4010
Web: nerec.unl.edu

Haskell Ag Lab
(Eastern Nebraska REC)
57905 866 Road
Concord, NE 68728-2828
Phone: 402-584-2261
Fax: 402-584-3859
Web: nerec.unl.edu/nerechistory

Panhandle REC
4702 Avenue I
Scottsbluff, NE 69361-4939
Phone: 308-632-1230
Fax: 308-632-1365
Web: panhandle.unl.edu

Southeast REC
1071 County Road G
Ithaca, NE  68033-2234
Phone: 402-624-8037
Web: southeast.unl.edu

West Central REC
461 W. University Drive
North Platte, NE 69101-7756
Phone: 308-696-6740
Web: westcentral.unl.edu

Plant Production

Crop Production 

Department of Agronomy and Horticulture

Bruce Anderson
Forage Specialist
Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-6237
banderson1@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Cody Creech
Dryland Cropping Systems Specialist
Panhandle REC
(308) 632-1266

CropWatch Articles

Roger Elmore
Cropping Systems Agronomist
Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-1451
roger.elmore@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Patricio Grassini
Cropping Systems Agronomist
Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-5554
pgrassini2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Greg Kruger
Weed Science and Application Technology Specialist
West Central REC
308-696-6715
gkruger2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Bob Klein
Western Nebraska Crops Specialist
West Central REC
308-696-6705
rklein1@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Justin McMechan
Extension Crop Protection & Cropping Systems Specialist
402-624-8041
justin.mcmechan@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Teshome Regassa
Cropping Systems and Crop Variety Testing
Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-2811
tregassa2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Dipak Santra
Alternative Crops Specialist
Panhandle REC
308-632-1244
dsantra2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Carlos Urrea
Dry Bean Breeding Specialist
Panhandle REC
308-632-0556
currea2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Soils and Nutrient Management

Department of Agronomy and Horticulture

Richard Ferguson
Interim Department Head and Soil Fertility Specialist
Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-1144
rferguson1@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Brian Kreinke
Soils Extension Educator
Department of Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-5147
krienke.brian@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Tim Shaver
Nutrient Management Specialist
West Central REC
308-696-6714
tshaver2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Charles Wortmann
Nutrient Management Specialist
Southeast REC, Lincoln
402-472-2909
cwortman2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Irrigation

Department of Biological Systems Engineering

Chuck Burr
Water/Cropping Systems Extension Educator
West Central REC
308-696-6783
chuck.burr@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Amir Haghverdi
Irrigation & Water Management Specialist
Panhandle REC
308-632-1246
ahaghverdi2@unl.edu

Suat Irmak
Water Management Engineer
Biological Systems Engineering
402-472-4865
sirmak2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Bill Kranz
Irrigation Specialist
Haskell Ag Lab, Northeast REC
402-584-3857
wkranz1@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Derrel Martin
Irrigation and Water Resources Engineer
Biological Systems Engineering
402-472-1586
dmartin2@unlnotes.unl.edu

Engineering

Department of Biological Systems Engineering

Tom Franti
Surface Water Management Engineer
Biological Systems Engineering
402-472-9872
tfranti1@unl.edu

John Hay
Extension Educator, Energy, Biofuels
Biological Systems Engineering
402-472-0408
jhay2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Paul Jasa
Engineer, No-Till Systems
Biological Systems Engineering
402-472-6715
pjasa1@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Joe Luck
Precision Agriculture Engineer
Biological Systems Engineering
402-472-1413
jluck2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Climate

Nebraska State Climate Office

Al Dutcher

State Climatologist
School of Natural Resources
402-472-5206
adutcher1@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Tyler Williams
Extension Educator
402-441-7180
tyler.williams@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Agricultural Economics

Department of Agricultural Economics

David Aiken
Water Law Specialist
Agricultural Economics
402-472-1848
daiken1@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Austin Duerfeldt
Extension Educator in Ag Economics
Kimmel Education and Research Center
402-873-3166
aduerfeldt2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Jessica Groskopf
Extension Educator in Ag Economics
Panhandle REC
308-632-1247
jjohnson@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Jim Jansen
Extension Educator in Ag Economics
Haskell Ag Lab
402-584-3849
jjansen4@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Brad Lubben
Policy Specialist
Agricultural Economics
402-472-2235
blubben2@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Glennis McClure
Extension Educator for Farm and Ranch Management Analytics
402-472-0661
gmcclure3@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Matt Stockton
Agricultural Economist
West Central REC
308-696-6713
matt.stockton@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Robert Tigner
Agricultural Systems Economist, Educator
West Central REC
308-696-6734
robert.tigner@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles

Cory Walters|
Extension Crop Economist
Department of Agricultural Economics
402-472-0366
cwalters7@unl.edu
CropWatch Articles