UNL CropWatch April 23, 2010: Schedule of 2010 Nebraska Winter Wheat Variety Tours & Meetings

UNL CropWatch April 23, 2010: Schedule of 2010 Nebraska Winter Wheat Variety Tours & Meetings

 

Photo - Wheat tour

UNL Extension Wheat Tours and Meetings are an excellent opportunity to view and compare different winter wheat varieties before making your seed selections for 2011.

 
April 23, 2010

View current and upcoming winter wheat varieties and compare how they fared under this year’s growing conditions at a series of meetings and tours scheduled for this June.

You’ll be able to view UNL wheat field trials of 48 varieties at the rainfed locations and 32 varieties at the irrigated locations. The selection includes a couple varieties to measure progress in winter wheat breeding, many currently available varieties, recent releases, and test varieties that may be released later, depending on their field performance.

Meetings with each tour will cover the latest recommendations on winter wheat production practices, including seeding dates; fertilizer use; insect, disease and weed management; fallow practices; and economics.

Schedule

For more information on any of these meetings, contact the host extension educators listed.

Wednesday, June 9 Holt County Irrigated
7:00 a.m. Breakfast at Blarney Stone Restaurant, 5th and Douglas, O’Neill
In cooperation with The Seed House in O’Neill, Arrow Seed Co. in Broken Bow and Syngenta Seeds in Kearney
Host Educators: Dewey Teel, dteel1@unl.edu, (402) 887-6414
Gary Stauffer, gstauffer1@unl.edu, (402) 336-2760

Monday, June 14 – Chase County Irrigated
5:00 p.m. Wheat Plot. Location: From Enders go 1 mile north, 1 mile west (just across railroad tracks), and 0.25 mile south
In cooperation with Luhrs Certified Seed & Conditioning in Enders and Agri-Pro Seeds
Host Educator: Robert Tigner, rtigner2@unl.edu, (308) 882-4731

Tuesday, June 15 – Keith County Rainfed
8:00 a.m. Breakfast at Village Cafe in Brule
In cooperation with Arrow Seed Company, Inc.
Host Educator: Doug Anderson, danderson3@unl.edu, (308) 284-6051

Wednesday, June 16 – Furnas County Rainfed
7:00 a.m. Breakfast at Ella Missing Community Center, 411 Sixth St., Arapahoe (location change)
Meeting in cooperation with Arrow Seed Company, Inc.
Host Educator: Noel Mues, nmues1@unl.edu, (308) 268-3105

Wednesday, June 16 – Red Willow County Rainfed
6:00 p.m. Meal at Community Bldg at Red Willow County Fairgrounds, West 5th and O streets in McCook
In cooperation with Frenchman Valley Coop, McCook
Host Educator: Brian Strauch, bstrauch2@unl.edu, (308) 345-3390

Robert Klein
Extension Western Nebraska Crops Specialist