Regional Wheat Variety Tours in mid June

Regional Wheat Variety Tours in mid June

May 15, 2009

UNL Wheat Production Meetings and Variety Tours will be held in mid-June at five Nebraska sites. The meetings will open with presentations on winter wheat production, including the pre-wheat fallow period, variety selection, seeding date, seeding rate, seed treatments, drills and settings, nutrient management, pest management, harvest practices, and post-harvest weed management.

The tours will include new and experimental winter wheat varieties as well as many of the varieties being grown by producers along with varieties to measure progress in winter wheat variety development.

For additional information on any meeting, contact the host educator or Robert Klein, Extension Western Nebraska Crops Specialist, at rklein1@unl.edu or 308-696-6705.

Meeting Schedule

Monday, June 15, Enders — Chase County Irrigated
5 p.m. at Tom Luhrs Farm
Plot is 3/4 mile south of Luhrs sign on Old Hwy 6
Meeting in cooperation with AgriPro and Luhrs Certified Seed and Conditioning
Host Educator: Robert Tigner, rtigner2@unl.edu, 308-882-4731

Wednesday, June 17, Arapahoe — Furnas County Rainfed
7 a.m. at First Methodist Church, 701 5th Street
Meeting in cooperation with Arrow Seed Company, Inc.
Host Educator: Noel Mues, nmues1@unl.edu, 308-268-3105

Wednesday, June 17, McCook — Red Willow County Rainfed
6 p.m. at the Red Willow County Fairgrounds Community Building, West 5th and O sts.
Meeting in cooperation with Frenchman Valley Coop, McCook
Host Educator: Brian Strauch, bstrauch2@unl.edu, 308-345-3390

Thursday, June 18, Brule — Keith County Rainfed
8 a.m. at Village Cafe
Meeting in cooperation with Arrow Seed Company, Inc.
Host Educator: Doug Anderson, danderson3@unl.edu, 308-284-6051

Friday, June 19, O'Neill — Holt County Irrigated
7 a.m. Breakfast at Blarney Stone Restaurant in O'Neill, 5th and Douglas
Meeting in cooperation with The Seed House of O'Neill, Arrow Seed of Broken Bow, and Syngenta Seeds of Kearney
Host Educator: Gary Stauffer, gstauffer1@unl.edu