Cornhusker Economics Outlook Meetings to be Held in March

Cornhusker Economics Outlook Meetings to be Held in March

Feb. 3, 2014

The ninth annual Cornhusker Economics Outlook meetings will focus on the current ag outlook and management decisions for farmers and ranchers.    

The meetings are a concise, fast-paced discussion of crop, livestock, policy and land outlooks for 2014.       

Programs will be held at 9 sites across the state March 3-7. They are sponsored by University of Nebraska-Lincoln Extension and the UNL Department of Agricultural Economics with support from the Nebraska Corn Board, the Great Western Bank, and local sponsors.

Presenters and Topics          

Kate Brooks, UNL extension livestock economist, will provide a current status of the industry and analysis for beef and other livestock producers. Brooks, whose expertise is in market analysis and production economics, recently led a study of livestock industry trends in Nebraska. She will interpret emerging livestock market fundamentals, meat supplies, and meat demand to assess producer profit potential and sound marketing and production decisions in 2013.

Cory Walters, a new UNL extension crop economist, will address crop marketing and risk management, using his substantial research on crop marketing and crop insurance strategies and decisions. Walters brings experience from both Kentucky and a farm background in Montana to his new role in Nebraska. He will discuss the outlook for corn, soybeans, and wheat to help producers make sound production, marketing, and risk management decisions.

Brad Lubben, UNL extension policy specialist at UNL, will provide perspectives on the policy environment in Washington and the long-awaited farm bill. With Congressional efforts in January and early February, it appears producers will finally be able to focus on farm program decisions rather than continuing deliberations. Lubben will discuss the policy outlook and program alternatives to help producers effectively combine farm programs, crop insurance, and marketing strategies for success.

Local UNL extension educators will provide additional information on current land and leasing economics. With declining crop prices and profitability projections for 2014 and land and rental prices still high, producers will need to push an even sharper pencil on land and leasing decisions and production plans.

Programs are packed into a 2 1/2-hour format. The programs are free but pre-registration is encouraged to plan for facilities, refreshments, and materials.

Program Schedule and Contact Information

Hastings: Monday, March 3, 9 - 11:30 a.m. CT, Adams County Fairgrounds
Contact: Ron Seymour, UNL extension educator, Adams County, at 402-461-7209 or  ron.seymour@unl.edu

Gothenburg: Monday, March 3, 2:30 - 5 p.m. CST, Gothenburg (Monsanto) Learning Center, 76268 Hwy 47
Contact: Bruce Treffer, UNL extension educator, Dawson County, at 308-324-5501, or  btreffer1@unl.edu or Chuck Burr, UNL extension educator, West Central REC at 308-696-6783 or cburr1@unl.edu

Sidney: Tuesday, March 4, 9 - 11:30 a.m. MST, Holiday Inn, 664 Chase Blvd,
Contact: Karen DeBoer, UNL extension educator, Cheyenne County, at 308-254-4455 or kdeboer1@unl.edu

Chadron: Tuesday, March. 5, 2:30 - 5 p.m. MST, Dawes County Fairgrounds, East Norfolk Avenue
Contact: Jaime Goffena, UNL extension educator, Sioux County, at 308-432-3373 or jgoffena2@unl.edu or Jessica Johnson, UNL extension educator, Panhandle REC, at 308-632-1247 or jjohnson@unl.edu

Valentine: Wednesday, March 5, 9 - 11:30 a.m. CST, Niobrara Lodge, 803 East Highway 20
Contact: Jay Jenkins, UNL extension educator, Cherry County, at 402-376-1850 or jjenkins2@unl.edu

O'Neill: Wednesday, March 5, 2:30 - 5 p.m. CST, Holt County Annex, 128 N 6th St. Contact: Gary Stauffer and Amy Timmerman, UNL extension educators, Holt/Boyd counties, 402-336-2760 or gstauffer1@unl.edu or atimmerman2@unl.edu

West Point: Thursday, March 6, 9 - 11:30 a.m. CST, Nielsen Community Center, Anna Stalp Ave
Contact: Larry Howard, UNL extension educator, Cuming County, at 402-372-6006 or lhoward1@unl.edu

Lincoln: Thursday, March 6, 6:30 - 9:00 p.m. CT, Lancaster County Extension Office, 444 Cherrycreek Rd,
Contact: Paul Hay, UNL extension educator, Gage County, at: 402-223-1384 or phay1@unl.edu

Nebraska City, Friday, March. 7, 9 - 11:30 a.m., Kimmel Education and Research Center, 5985 G Rd,
Contact: Monte Vandeveer, UNL extension educator, Otoe Countym at 402-269-2301 or monte.vandeveer@unl.edu

            More information on the meetings is available on the UNL Department of Agricultural Economics or Cornhusker Economics Outlook home pages  or by contacting Brad Lubben at 402-472-2235.

IANR News Release