Cornhusker Economics Conference in February at Five Locations

Cornhusker Economics Conference in February at Five Locations

February 11, 2009

The fourth annual Cornhusker Economics Management and Outlook Conference will cover key economic topics affecting farm management and production decisions for 2009.

Conference Schedule

Kearney — Wednesday, February 18
Buffalo County Extension Office
1400 E 34th Street
Contact: Brent Plugge, Buffalo County Extension, (308) 238-1235; bplugge1@unl.edu

Ogallala — Thursday, February 19
Grey Goose Lodge, 201 Chuckwagon Road (1-80, Exit 126)
Contact: Doug Anderson, Keith County Extension, (308) 284-6051; danderson3@unl.edu

Scottsbluff — Friday, February 20
Panhandle Research and Extension Center, 4502 Avenue I
Contact: Tom Holman, Scotts Bluff County Extension, (308) 632-1480; tholman1@unl.edu
Contact: Paul Burgener, Panhandle Research and Extension Center, (308) 632-1230; pburgener2@unl.edu

Nebraska City — Monday, February 23
Kimmel Education and Research Center, 5985 G Road
Contact: Sarah Heidzig-Krager, Richardson County Extension, (402) 245-4324; sheidzig2@unl.edu
Contact: Tim Lemmons, Cass County Extension, (402) 762-3622; tlemmons2@unl.edu

Columbus — Tuesday, February 24
Dusters Restaurant, 2804 13th Street
Contact: Allan Vyhnalek, Platte County Extension, (402) 563-4901; avyhnalek2@unl.edu

Morning session will focus on the fundamental outlook for agriculture in 2009 and afternoon sessions will address the general economy and the policy outlook, including the new farm bill.

Agricultural producers make decisions in an environment where economic and financial uncertainty are affecting market and credit conditions, and both input costs and commodity prices are extremely volatile. Add in the 2008 farm bill and the complex changes in the producer's farm income safety net, and there is no more important time to focus on the key economic issues and management decisions that producers face in 2009.

Registration of $25 per person includes conference materials, refreshments, and the noon meal. Registrations are requested at least one week before the conference date in order to plan meals. For more information or to register online go to www.agecon.unl.edu/resource/cemoc.html, call 800-535-3456, or e-mail ssterkel1@unl.edu.

Topics and Speakers Commodity Outlook

  • Livestock with Darrell Mark: What is the outlook for the livestock market? How do I manage risk in the livestock operation?
  • Crops with Paul Burgener: What is the outlook for the grain and oilseeds market? What are my marketing alternatives and challenges? How do I handle the production and risk management decisions?
  • Inputs with Matt Stockton and Roger Wilson: What is the outlook for crop and livestock inputs in 2009? How do I manage price risk on inputs? How do I manage input costs and maintain profitability?
  • Land with Bruce Johnson and Ben Blomendah: Has the land market landed? Where are cash rents headed? Are crop-share arrangements keeping pace with changing economics?
  • Panel Discussion: Questions and comments for session speakers.

Economic and Policy Outlook

  • General Economy with representatives of the Federal Reserve Perspective and Lenders: Where is the general economy headed? Is the ag economy's fate tied to the general economy? How do I make financial management decisions in a more uncertain and volatile economy?
  • Policy Outlook and the New Farm Bill with Brad Lubben: How is the new farm program being implemented and what decisions do I have to make? How will the new program affect my risk management decisions? How will agriculture fare under a new Administration and new Congress?
  • Panel Discussion: Questions and comments for the Economic and Policy Outlook Session speakers