Conferences to Cover Timely Information for Production and Market Decisions - UNL CropWatch, 2013

Conferences to Cover Timely Information for Production and Market Decisions - UNL CropWatch, 2013

February 13, 2013

Current market and economic information for crop and livestock production and ag policy will be the focus of eight Cornhusker Economics Outlook meetings the last week of February.

Speakers will take an in-depth, fast-paced look at key outlook issues and management decisions for 2013 from three leading experts in the region:

  • Crops:  Paul Burgener, market analyst, Farm Futures Magazine and Farm Progress Company, will examine the corn, soybean, and wheat markets in relation to producer production and marketing decisions.
     
  • Livestock: Kate Brooks, UNL Extension livestock economist, will focus on production and marketing decisions for cattle and hogs.
     
  • Policy: Brad Lubben, UNL Extension policy specialist, will address the volatile policy debate in Washington and the implications for ag policy and the farm bill.

The entire meeting series is free due to support by the Nebraska Corn Board and Great Western Bank. Refreshments and educational materials will be provided at each meeting. For planning purposes, contact the Extension office listed to register for the location where you would like to attend.

Locations, Dates, Times, and Local Contacts

Falls City: Feb. 25, 9:00 AM - 11:30 a.m., Konstantino's Pizza, 117 E 17th Street
Contact: Lindsay Chichester, Richardson County Extension, 402-245-4324, lindsay.chichester@unl.edu

Geneva: Feb. 25, 2:30 - 5:00 p.m., Fillmore County Fairgrounds, 5th and K Streets
Contact: Brandy VanDeWalle, Fillmore County Extension, 402-759-3712, brandy.vandewalle@unl.edu

Kearney: Feb. 26, 9:00 - 11:30 a.m., Buffalo County Extension Office, 1400 E. 34th Street
Contact: Brent Plugge, Buffalo County Extension, 308-236-1235, brent.plugge@unl.edu

Curtis: Feb. 26, 6:30 - 9:00 p.m., Ag Industry Education Center, Nebraska College of Technical Agriculture
Contact: Barb Scharf, Frontier County Extension, 308-367-4424, barbara.scharf@unl.edu

Scottsbluff: Feb. 27, 9:00 - 11:30 a.m., UNL Panhandle REC, 4502 Avenue I
Contact: Tom Holman, Scotts Bluff County Extension, 308-632-1480, tholman1@unl.edu

Whitman: Feb. 27, 3:00 - 5:30 p.m., Gudmundsen Sandhills Laboratory, 45089 Gudmundsen Road
Contact: Bethany Johnston, Central Sandhills Extension, 308-645-2267, bjohnston3@unl.edu

Norfolk: Feb. 28, 9:00 - 11:30 a.m., Lifelong Learning Center, 601 East Benjamin Avenue
Contact: Tim Lemmons, UNL Northeast REC, 402-370-4061, tlemmons2@unl.edu

Lincoln: Feb. 28, 6:30 - 9:00 p.m., UNL East Campus Union, 33rd and Fair streets
Contact: Brad Lubben, UNL Agricultural Economics, 402-472-2235, blubben2@unl.edu

Brad Lubben
UNL Extension Policy Specialist