Nebraska Youth Crop Scouting Competition Results

Competition participants in group photo
Eight teams comprised of Nebraska youth competed in this year's Nebraska Youth Crop Scouting Competition.

Nebraska Youth Crop Scouting Competition Results

Nebraska Extension strives to recruit the next generation of agronomy professionals by annually conducting the Nebraska Youth Crop Scouting Competition. During this year’s competition, held on Aug. 2, 2023 at the Eastern Nebraska Research and Extension Center, eight teams were able to talk with extension staff and scout field plots at the research center. This competition is a great experience for those wanting to work in many different fields of agriculture, providing a fun, competitive environment where youths can receive hands-on learning about all aspects of crop scouting.

Receiving first place and a cash prize of $500 was Colfax County 4-H Team #2, which consisted of Justin Eisenmann, Callen, Cody and Daphne Jedlicka. Second place, which received $250, was Colfax County 4-H Team #1, with Josh Eisenmann, Hayden Bailey and Rylan Nelson. Steve Nelson was the coach for both Colfax County teams. Arlington FFA received third place, with Aaron Fuchs, Ethan Hilgenkamp and Wesley Monke, coached by Kali Agler.

Colfax County #2 group photo
Figure 1. Colfax County Team #2 celebrates placing first in this year's Nebraska Youth Crop Scouting Competition. Team members included (from left) Justin Eisenmann, Cody Jedlicka, Callen Jedlicka and Daphne Jedlicka.
Nathan Mueller with competition youths
Figure 2. Nebraska Extension Educator Nathan Mueller chats with participants during the competition.

Also participating were two teams from Johnson County 4-H, coached by Jon Schmid. Team members from Johnson County #1 included Elliott Werner, Wesley Schmid, Cameron Werner and Molly Weber. Brynn Weber, Bo McCoy, Levi Othmer and Sophia Schmid were on Johnson County #2. Kornhusker Kids 4-H Club out of Cuming County had two teams coached by Chris Schiller. Team #1 was Eli Ritter, James Rolf, Ian Schiller, Isaac Wooldrick and Brayden Rolf. Kornhusker Kids #2 consisted of Ali Ritter, Levi and Tia Strehle, Nolan Hasenkamp, Ryder Stigge, and Kylie and Keegan Fischer. Robyn Graham coached the Humphrey FFA team, which had Keith Ternus, Brock Pfeifer, Ty Classen and Caden Brandl as participants.

Hosted by Nebraska Extension, a regional competition will be held among Nebraska, Iowa, Illinois, Indiana and Minnesota teams on Monday, Sept. 18, 2023, at the Eastern Nebraska Research, Education and Extension Center. Participants from Colfax County Teams #1 and #2 will represent Nebraska this year.

The 2023 Nebraska Youth Crop Scouting Competition was sponsored by the Nebraska Independent Crop Consultant Association, Ward Laboratories, the Nebraska Soybean Board and UNL’s Doctor of Plant Health program in collaboration with Nebraska Extension.

For more information on the Youth Crop Scouting Competition, contact Brandy VanDeWalle or visit the CropWatch Youth hub.

Online Master of Science in Agronomy

With a focus on industry applications and research, the online program is designed with maximum flexibility for today's working professionals.

A field of corn.