USDA Designates 10 Nebraska Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

USDA Designates 10 Nebraska Counties as Primary Natural Disaster Areas

This Secretarial natural disaster designation allows the United States Department of Agriculture (USDA) Farm Service Agency (FSA) to extend much-needed emergency credit to producers recovering from natural disasters through emergency loans. Emergency loans can be used to meet various recovery needs including the replacement of essential items such as equipment or livestock, reorganization of a farming operation or the refinance of certain debts. FSA will review the loans based on the extent of losses, security available and repayment ability.

According to the U.S. Drought Monitor, these counties suffered from a drought intensity value during the growing season of 1) D2 Drought-Severe for eight or more consecutive weeks or 2) D3 Drought-Extreme or D4 Drought-Exceptional.

Primary counties eligible:

  • Antelope
  • Boone
  • Custer
  • Garfield
  • Greeley
  • Holt
  • Howard
  • Sherman
  • Valley
  • Wheeler

Contiguous counties also eligible:

  • Blaine
  • Boyd
  • Buffalo
  • Dawson
  • Hall
  • Keya Paha
  • Knox
  • Lincoln
  • Logan
  • Loup
  • Madison
  • Merrick
  • Nance
  • Pierce
  • Platte
  • Rock

More Resources

On, the Disaster Assistance Discovery ToolDisaster Assistance-at-a-Glance fact sheet, and Farm Loan Discovery Tool can help you determine program or loan options. To file a Notice of Loss or to ask questions about available programs, contact your local USDA Service Center.

Online Master of Science in Agronomy

With a focus on industry applications and research, the online program is designed with maximum flexibility for today's working professionals.

A field of corn.