Author Contacts

Regional Crop Educators

Nebraska Extension offers regional Extension Educators with expertise in crops, pest management, and water management throughout the state. To find the Extension Educator for your area see the  UNL Extension Directories by District.

Pest Management

Services

Plant and Pest Diagnostic Clinic
402-472-2559
UNL Plant Diagnostic Clinics

Insect Management

Jeffrey Bradshaw
Entomologist, Field Crops
Panhandle REC
308-632-1230
jbradshaw2@unl.edu

Tom Hunt
Entomologist, Field Crops
Haskell Ag Lab, Northeast REC
402-584-3863
thunt2@unl.edu

Julie Peterson
Entomologist, Field Crops
West Central REC
308-696-6704
julie.peterson@unl.edu

Bob Wright
Entomologist, Field Crops
Department of Entomology
402-472-2128
rwright2@unl.edu

Plant Diseases

Tony Adesemoye
Plant Pathologist
West Central REC, North Platte
308-696-6708
tony.adesemoye@unl.edu

Loren Giesler
Plant Pathologist, Soybeans
Department of Plant Pathology
402-472-2559
lgiesler1@unl.edu

Bob Harveson
Plant Pathologist, Sugarbeets
Panhandle REC
308-632-1239
rharveson2@unl.edu

Tamra Jackson
Plant Pathologist, Corn and Sorghum
Department of Plant Pathology
402-472-2559
tjackson3@unl.edu

Stephen Wegulo
Plant Pathologist, Wheat
Department of Plant Pathology
402-472-8735
swegulo2@unl.edu

Weed Management

Amit Jhala
Extension Weeds Specialist
Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-1534
amit.jhala@unl.edu

Stevan Knezevic
Integrated Weed Management Specialist
Haskell Ag Lab, Northeast REC
402-584-3808
sknezevic2@unl.edu

Nevin Lawrence
Integrated Weed Management Specialist
Panhandle REC, Scottsbluff
308-632-1230

Pesticide Education

Clyde Ogg
Extension Pesticide Educator
Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-1632
cogg1@unl.edu

Ben Beckman
Extension Assistant
Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-1632
ben.beckman@unl.edu

Jody Green
Extension Assistant
Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-1665
Jgreen17@unl.edu

Jan Hygnstrom
Extension Project Manager
Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-1632
Jhygnstrom1@unl.edu

Cheryl Alberts Irwin
Pesticide Safety Education Program
Project Coordinator
363C Plant Science 68583-0915
402-472-1696 PH
calberts1@unl.edu

Contributing Departments / School
(UNL East Campus, Lincoln)

Agronomy and Horticulture
Roch Gaussoin, Department Head
Plant Science 279, 68583-0910
Phone: 402-472-2811
Fax: 402-472-7904
Web: agronomy.unl.edu

Biological Systems Engineering
Mark Riley, Department Head
223 L.W. Chase Hall, 68583-0726
Phone: 402-472-1413
Fax: 402-472-6338
Web: bse.unl.edu

Entomology
Gary Brewer, Department Head
103 Entomology Hall, 68583-0816
Phone: 402-472-2123
Fax: 402-472-4687
Web: entomology.unl.edu

High Plains Regional Climate Center
Ken Hubbard, Director
246 L.W. Chase Hall, 68583-0728
Phone: 402-472-6706
Fax: 402-472-8763
Web: hprcc.unl.edu

Plant Pathology
James Steadman, Department Head
406 Plant Science, 68583-0722
Phone: 402-472-2858
Fax: 402-472-2853
Web: plantpath.unl.edu

School of Natural Resources
Don Wilhite, Director
912 Hardin Hall
Phone: 402-472-3471
Fax: 402-472-3610
Web: snr.unl.edu

Research and Extension Centers (REC)

Northeast REC
601 East Benjamin Avenue, Suite 104
Norfolk, NE 68701-0812
Phone: 402-370-4000
Fax: 402-470-4010
Web: nerec.unl.edu

Haskell Ag Lab
(Northeast REC)
57905 866 Road
Concord, NE 68728-2828
Phone: 402-584-2261
Fax: 402-584-3859
Web: nerec.unl.edu/nerechistory

Panhandle REC
4702 Avenue I
Scottsbluff, NE 69361-4939
Phone: 308-632-1230
Fax: 308-632-1365
Web: panhandle.unl.edu

Southeast REC
1071 County Road G
Ithaca, NE  68033-2234
Phone: 402-624-8037
Web: southeast.unl.edu

West Central REC
461 W. University Drive
North Platte, NE 69101-7756
Phone: 308-696-6740
Fax: 308-632-3823
Web: westcentral.unl.edu
 

Plant Production

Crop Production 

Bruce Anderson
Forage Specialist
Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-6237
banderson1@unl.edu

Roger Elmore
Cropping Systems Agronomist
Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-1451
roger.elmore@unl.edu

Patricio Grassini
Cropping Systems Agronomist
Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-5554
pgrassini2@unl.edu

Greg Kruger
Cropping Systems Specialist
West Central REC
308-696-6715
gkruger2@unl.edu

Bob Klein
Western Nebraska Crops Specialist
West Central REC
308-696-6705
rklein1@unl.edu 

Alexander Pavlista
Crop Physiologist / Potato Specialist
Panhandle REC
308-632-1262
apavlista1@unl.edu

Teshome Regassa
Cropping Systems and Crop Variety Testing
Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-2811
tregassa2@unl.edu

Dipak Santra
Alternative Crops Specialist
Panhandle REC
308-632-1244
dsantra2@unl.edu

Carlos Urrea
Dry Bean Breeding Specialist
Panhandle REC
308-632-0556
currea2@unl.edu

Soils and Nutrient Management

Richard Ferguson
Soils Specialist
Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-1144
rferguson1@unl.edu

Brian Kreinke
Extension Educator
Department of Agronomy and Horticulture
402-472-5147
krienke.brian@unl.edu

Charles Shapiro
Soils Specialist
Haskell Ag Lab, Northeast REC
402-584-3803
cshapiro1@unl.edu

Tim Shaver
Nutrient Management Specialist
West Central REC
308-696-6714
tshaver2@unl.edu

Charles Wortmann
Nutrient Management Specialist
Southeast REC, Lincoln
402-472-2909
cwortman2@unl.edu

Irrigation

Chuck Burr
Water/Cropping Systems Extension Educator
West Central REC
308-696-6783
chuck.burr@unl.edu

Amir Haghverdi
Irrigation & Water Management Specialist
Panhandle REC
308-632-1246
ahaghverdi2@unl.edu

Suat Irmak
Water Management Engineer
Biological Systems Engineering
402-472-4865
sirmak2@unl.edu

William Kranz
Irrigation Specialist
Haskell Ag Lab, Northeast REC
402-584-3857
wkranz1@unl.edu

Derrel Martin
Irrigation and Water Resources Engineer
Biological Systems Engineering
402-472-1586
dmartin2@unlnotes.unl.edu

Engineering

Tom Franti
Surface Water Management Engineer
Biological Systems Engineering
402-472-9872
tfranti1@unl.edu

John Hay
Extension Educator, Energy, Biofuels
Biological Systems Engineering
402-472-0408
jhay2@unl.edu

Paul Jasa
Engineer, No-Till Systems
Biological Systems Engineering
402-472-6715
pjasa1@unl.edu

Joe Luck
Precision Agriculture Engineer
Biological Systems Engineering
402-472-1413
jluck2@unl.edu

Climate

Al Dutcher
State Climatologist
School of Natural Resources
402-472-5206
adutcher1@unl.edu
 

Agricultural Economics

David Aiken
Water Law Specialist
Agricultural Economics
402-472-1848
daiken1@unl.edu

Jessica Johnson
Extension Educator in Ag Economics
Panhandle REC
308-632-1247
jjohnson@unl.edu

Brad Lubben
Policy Specialist
Agricultural Economics
402-472-2235
blubben2@unl.edu

Matt Stockton
Agricultural Economist
West Central REC
308-696-6713
matt.stockton@unl.edu

Cory Walters|
Extension Crop Economist
Department of Agricultural Economics
402-472-0366
cwalters7@unl.edu

Roger Wilson
Budget Analyst, Farm Management
Department of Agricultural Economics
402-472-1771
rwilson6@unl.edu