Grain Marketing Workshops Offer Valuable Info in Year of Low Prices

Grain Marketing Workshops Offer Valuable Info in Year of Low Prices October 26, 2016

Location- and commodity-specific grain marketing information will be presented during the Nebraska Extension Grain Marketing Workshops to be held across Nebraska this winter. The meetings will provide information and tools to help grain producers minimize losses during this time of low prices.

Topics include developing a written marketing plan and developing an understanding of basis and carrying charges. The workshops feature the Marketing in a New Era (MINE) simulator and the Grain Marketing Plan smartphone application. (See the Oct. 19 Cornhusker Economics, Successful Extension Meetings and Innovative Economic Research: Grain Marketing Simulations, for more on the new MINE marketing tool.

Register for these meetings at go.unl.edu/marketingworkshops. Each workshop begins at 9:30 a.m. and ends at 3 p.m. A complimentary lunch is provided. Workshops, which are funded by the Nebraska Corn Board, are limited to 40 participants each.

November

  • Grant — Nov. 14: Stumpf Wheat Center, 76025 Road 329; contact: Robert Tigner at robert.tigner@unl.edu or 308-345-3390

December

  • Bladen — Dec. 6: Webster County Fairgrounds, on the west side of Crescent Street, between Helen Street and Mariel Street; contact: Robert Tigner at robert.tigner@unl.edu or 308-345-3390
  • Grand Island — Dec. 7: Hall County Extension Office, 3180 W. Highway 34; contact: Robert Tigner at robert.tigner@unl.edu or 308-345-3390

January

  • Scottsbluff — Jan. 3: Panhandle Research and Extension Center, 4502 Ave I; contact: Jessica Groskopf at jjohnson@unl.edu or 308-632-1247
  • Alliance — Jan. 31: Alliance Public Library, 1750 Sweetwater Ave.; contact: John Thomas at jthomas2@unl.edu or 308-762-5616

February

  • Sidney — Feb. 1: Cheyenne County Community Center, 645 Toledo St.; contact: Karen DeBoer at kdeboer1@unl.edu or 308- 254-4455
  • Columbus — Feb. 6: Pinnacle Bank; contact: Allan Vyhnalek at avyhnalek@unl.edu or 402-563-4901
  • Mead — Feb. 7: University of Nebraska Agricultural Research & Development Center near Mead, 1071 County Rd G; contact: Keith Glewen at kglewen1@unl.edu or 402-624-8000
  • Albion — Feb. 8: Casey’s Building on the Boone County Fairgrounds, 100 West Fairview; contact: Steve Pritchard at spritchard1@unl.edu or 402-395-2158
  • Norfolk — Feb. 9: Lifelong Learning Center on the Northeast Community College campus, 801 East Benjamin Avenue; contact Wayne Ohnesorg at 402-370-4044 or wohnesorg2@unl.edu
  • Nebraska City — Feb. 20 at the Kimmel Education and Research Center, 5985 G Road; contact: Tyler Williams at tyler.williams@unl.edu or 402-441-7180
  • Beatrice — Feb. 21 at the Gage County Extension Office, 1115 West Scott Street; contact: Paul Hay at paul.hay@unl.edu or 402 - 223-1384
  • Tecumseh — Feb. 22 at the Nemaha Natural Resources District, 62161 US-136; contact Gary Lesoing at gary.lesoing@unl.edu or 402-274-4755

March

  • McCook — March 6 at the Red Willow County Fairgrounds; contact: Robert Tigner at 308-345-3390
  • Lexington — March 7 at Dawson County Fairgrounds, 1002 Plum Creek Parkway; contact:  Robert Tigner at 308-345-3390
  • Broken Bow — March 13 at MidPlains Community College, 2520 S E St.; contact:  Robert Tigner at 308-345-3390